May 5, 2014


The Complete Guide to Jennifer Lopez's New Album 'A.K.A.'

The Latest: With less than a week before release day, J.Lo's been dropping teasers of songs left and right. Scroll down below to hear clips of new songs like "Emotions," "Worry No More" and the title track.

The Buildup

After riding high off her 2011 comeback album Love? and subsequent Dance Again... The Hits compilation, Jennifer Lopez is gearing up for another record dedicated to her "first love": Music.

Inspiration came from her Dance Again World Tour. In mid-2013, J.Lo told her co-worker Ryan Seacrest she "was really inspired from performing and singing all the time” after her first world tour. "I just got off tour and I went right back in the studio. I was like, ‘I just want to make more music.'"

The first fruit of that was a high-energy, euphoric banger released last May with Pitbull called "Live It Up." Although it may not make the album, that track kicked off album talks with her label. Jenny originally said she had "until November" to put the LP together, but the release date was eventually pushed to 2014. 

via @rapup/Instagram
via @rapup/Instagram

The Big Brunch Reveal

Jennifer Lopez invited an assortment of friends, fans and journalists to a Malibu brunch on Friday, April 25, where she revealed the delicious details about her upcoming studio album. 

Her 10th album is called untitled, but it's will be lead by the single "First Love," with its presumed cover art is a rose-tinted closeup shot of J.Lo from behind a chain fence (check it out above).

The Songs

"I Luh Ya Papi"

In March, J.Lo gave us the video for "I Luh Ya Papi," an awesome clip that flips the script by objectifying men as background objects in a music video. Check out our favorite shots from the brilliant clip here or watch it above.

"Same Girl"

The hip hop-indebted "Same Girl," which dropped in January, may not end up on the final tracklist. "This was just something I was doing for the fans," she told Ryan Seacrest. "It's not a first single or anything like that."

J.Lo previewed several of her new tracks at her Malibu brunch, including...

"First Love"
The next single will be the album's title track, a Max Martin-produced song that Arjan Writes said has a "huge hook" and "big drums." 

Listen to the full track and read Fuse's review of the emotional new track here.

"Big Booty"
Produced by Diplo and featuring frequent collaborator PitbullBillboard's Erika Ramirez describes this song as "a seductive club joint." It will also reportedly be a single at some point.

"Actin' Like That"
J.Lo debuted an unfinished demo of "Actin' Like That," which Idolator's Mike Wass said has "heavy beats" and a "hip hop" tone courtesy of producer Roccstar. Karen Civil described it as "an anthem for day 1 women, who are reminding men not to let the tables turn."

Co-written by Chris Brown, J.Lo said this ballad "sets the tone" for the album (according to Karen Civil). Breezy also co-wrote "Same Girl" for Lopez. "He’s a very talented boy," she told Pop Crush. Listen to a minute of the ballad via a video teaser here.

"No Worries"
This track features the omnipresent Rick Rossaccording to Rap-Up. Listen to a quick preview of the track via a video teaser from J.Lo's Instagram.

This song features Illmatic mastermind Nasaccording to Rap-Up.

"Never Satisfied"
Idolator calls it "a slow jam with heavy synths" and Billboard's Ramirez gives us the following lyric: "I'm never satisfied / My appetite is keeping me up at night / I'm going crazy for more of your love / I need you all the time."

"Let It Be Me"
Idolator describes it as a "guitar-led ballad."

An empowering, bouncy hip hop-pop track that features T.I. Listen to a preview of it via Instagram and check out an exclusive interview where J.Lo tells us how T.I. landed on the record right here.

The Tracklisting

1. A.K.A. (Feat. T.I.)
2. First Love
3. Never Satisfied
4. I Luh Ya Papi (Feat. French Montana)
5. Acting Like That (Feat. Iggy Azalea)
6. Emotions
7. So Good
8. Let It Be Me
9. Worry No More (Feat. Rick Ross)
10. Booty (feat Pitbull)
11. TENS (Feat. Jack MIZRAHI)
12. Troubeaux (Feat. Nas)
13. Expertease (Ready Set Go)
14. Same Girl (Feat. French Montana)

The Collaborators 

French Montana
Chris Brown
Iggy Azalea
Rick Ross

Big Sean
Wiz Khalifa
Robin Thicke

Release Date

In March, the singer told a fansite backstage at American Idol that her new album will drop June 17. See the announcement below.