January 13, 2014


Foster the People Return With Breezy, Introspective "Coming of Age"

After teasing new music on New Year's Eve, Foster the People officially return with the breezy, synth-rock single "Coming of Age," a song that finds the band at their most reflective yet.

Grungy '80s guitar riffs, gorgeous piano chords, sweeping synths, hand claps and Beach Boys-esque harmonies surround the catchy, "Feels like, feels like a coming of age" chorus. The track ends on a high note, literally: A falsetto-driven section of "oohs" ends the song and ensures the song will remain stuck in your head.

Lyrically, Mark Foster sings of growing pains on this latest track. He croons, "You got those crying eyes / Makes me wanna surrender and wrap you in my arms / You know I try to live without regrets / I'm always moving forward and not looking back." That's a much different tune than telling all the other kids to "outrun my gun" on their breakout hit "Pumped Up Kicks."

"Coming of Age" leads the trio's forthcoming sophomore album Supermodel, dropping March 18. Foster told Rolling Stone the album is "definitely an evolution for us. It's a more polarizing record, so I'm excited to see how it's received, for better or worse." See the tracklisting to the album below.

1. Are You What You Want to Be
2. Ask Yourself
3. Coming of Age
4. Nevermind
5. Pseudologia Fantastica
6. The Angelic Welcome of Mr. Jones
7. Best Friend
8. A Beginner’s Guide to Destroying the Moon
9. Goats in Trees
10. The Truth
11. Fire Escape